Skip to main content

Excerpt - IN THE SHADOW OF LIONS by Ginger Garrett

This week, the


Christian Fiction Blog Alliance


is introducing


In The Shadow Of Lions


David C. Cook; 1 edition (September 2008)


by


Ginger Garrett



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Ginger Garrett is the critically acclaimed author of Chosen: The Lost Diaries of Queen Esther, which was recognized as one of the top five novels of 2006 by the ECPA, and Dark Hour. An expert in ancient women's history, Ginger creates novels and nonfiction resources that explore the lives of historical women.

Her newest release is Beauty Secrets of the Bible, (September 11, Thomas Nelson) based on the historical research that began in her work on Chosen. The book explores the connections between beauty and spirituality, offering women both historical insights and scientific proofs that reveal powerful, natural beauty secrets.

A frequent radio guest on stations across the country, including NPR and Billy Graham's The Hour of Decision, Ginger is also a popular television guest. Her appearances include Harvest Television, Friends & Neighbors, and Babbie's House. Ginger frequently serves as a co-host on the inspirational cable program Deeper Living.

In 2007, Ginger was nominated for the Georgia Author of the Year Award for her novel Dark Hour. When she's not writing, you may spy Ginger hunting for vintage jewelry at thrift stores, running (slowly) in 5k and 10k races, or just trying to chase down one of her errant sheepdogs. A native Texan, she now resides in Georgia with her husband and three children.


ABOUT THE BOOK



"I am the first writer, The Scribe. My books lie open before the Throne, and someday will be the only witness of your people and their time in this world."

So begins the narration of one such angel in this sweeping historical tale set during the reign of England's Henry VIII. It is the story of two women, their guardian angels, and a mysterious, subversive book ... a book that outrages some, inspires others, and launches the Protestant Reformation.

The devout Anne Boleyn catches the eye of a powerful king and uses her influence to champion an English translation of the Bible. Meanwhile, Rose, a broken, suicidal woman of the streets, is moved to seek God when she witnesses Thomas More's public displays of Christian charity, ignorant of his secret life spent eradicating the Bible, persecuting anyone who dares read it.

Historic figures come alive in this thrilling story of heroes and villains, saints and sinners, angels and mortals ... and the sacred book that will inspire you anew. Fans of Francine Rivers and Karen Kingsbury will love Ginger's intriguing combination of rich character development, artful settings, and inspiring historical insights.

If you would like to read an excerpt from In The Shadow Of Lions, go HERE

Comments

Popular Posts

No Cold Bums toilet seat cover

Captain's Log, Stardate 08.22.2008 I actually wrote out my pattern! I was getting a lot of hits on my infamous toilet seat cover , and I wanted to make a new one with “improvements,” so I paid attention and wrote things down as I made the new one. This was originally based off the Potty Mouth toilet cover , but I altered it to fit over the seat instead of the lid. Yarn: any worsted weight yarn, about 120 yards (this is a really tight number, I used exactly 118 yards. My suggestion is to make sure you have about 130 yards.) I suggest using acrylic yarn because you’re going to be washing this often. Needle: I used US 8, but you can use whatever needle size is recommended by the yarn you’re using. Gauge: Not that important. Mine was 4 sts/1 inch in garter stitch. 6 buttons (I used some leftover shell buttons I had in my stash) tapestry needle Crochet hook (optional) Cover: Using a provisional cast on, cast on 12 stitches. Work in garter st until liner measures

Last day of the Clean Romance Sales Event

Today is the last day of the Clean Romance Sales Event. Lady Wynwood’s Spies, volume 1: Archer and Lady Wynwood’s Spies, volume 2: Berserker are both only 99 cents! There are lots of other clean/sweet or Christian romance books on sale from other authors, too, so be sure to check it out. Click here to get Lady Wynwood’s Spies, volume 1: Archer and Lady Wynwood’s Spies, volume 2: Berserker for only 99 cents each! Lady Wynwood’s Spies, volume 1: Archer Part one in a Christian Regency Romantic Adventure epic serial novel with a supernatural twist She met him again by shooting him. After four seasons and unmarried because she is taller than most of her dance partners, Miss Phoebe Sauber receives the shocking news that she is being callously banished from her father’s estate because he is remarrying. Feeling betrayed by her father and by God, and wanting to escape her family’s presence, she attends an archery tournament with her friends. But her perfect aim fails her, and

Camy Tang's September newsletter

My Camy Tang (Christian Contemporary Romantic Suspense) newsletter went out last week, but in case you missed it, you can click on the link below to read it. This month in my newsletter, I posted a link to a blog post about the hero and heroine of my Christian Romantic Suspense, Stalker in the Shadows . I also posted the link to the Clean Romance Sales Event promo this month, where the first book books of my Lady Wynwood’s Spies series are only 99 cents each, if you like Christian Historical Romance. Lastly, I posted chapter 4 of my Christian Humorous Romantic Suspense serial novel, Year of the Dog and gave an update on how my writing is going and what’s coming next. Click here to read my Camy Tang newsletter for this month.