Skip to main content

Edith Wharton’s THE BUCCANEERS

Captain's Log, Supplemental

I just watched the BBC period drama miniseries, The Buccaneers, based on Edith Wharton’s last unfinished novel.

The miniseries was very well done, I thought. Costumes were sumptuous and acting was good.

However, this is the second Wharton novel made into a film that I’ve seen, and both stories have a lack of morality that disturbs me. Adultery is seen as “true love.” Sure, the women had sucky marriages, but did the author/scriptwriter have to glorify adultery?

I’m not a prude, but I’m a pragmatist. If a young girl agrees to marry a duke, she has to understand there are certain obligations that come with being a duke, just as if she had married a President of the United States. She can’t whine about her duties or her social position—she should have thought of that before she married him.

The way the stories were presented made it seem that Nan, with her free spirited innocence, was in the right to run off with her lover, when in reality, all her problems started because her lover had refused to marry her when she was single and had first fallen in love with him. (I don’t know what part of the story was from the scriptwriter and what was Wharton’s notes, because I do know that Edith Wharton only finished about 3/5 of the book before she died and she left some notes about how she wanted the story to continue.)

I don’t know how closely the miniseries follows the book, but I was disappointed with the storyline. I don’t like reading or watching adultery, just like I don’t like movies that glorify murder and deception where the villain gets away with it and it’s portrayed as a good thing.

I guess I feel betrayed because I thought it would be a romantic miniseries in the tradition of Pride and Prejudice, when in actuality, very few of the characters in The Buccaneers have happy endings or show strength of character.

I mean, don’t you feel betrayed if you read a romance book where the hero and heroine don’t get together??? That’s kind of how I feel now, after watching this miniseries.

Comments

  1. Camy,
    I think you hit the proverbial nail on the head with your analysis of The Buccaneers. I watched it about a year ago...and I can't remember but I probably posted a vague, generally positive review. I remember staying up until the wee hours of the morning because I didn't want to turn the series off -- I was hooked and HAD to see how it turned out.
    However, as the story has "settled" into my consciousness over time, I was bothered by the same issues you raise...especially the glorification of adultery. It's really...well, SAD. Those characters who end up "happily" did so because they abandoned their commitments / marriages, etc. And everyone, whether they ended up happy or not, showed a general lack of character / principles.
    Sorry for the long comment but your post really convicted me (in a good way!) and reminded me of how easy it can be to get sucked into a story / film and forget to really look at how the characters act / behave, etc. and what worldview is promoted.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I hate it when a movie/book/anything promotes immorality in any form. Sure, most movies have some kind of immoral subject (even if it's lying) but they don't glorify it. It's a big let-down after looking forward to watching it, then have something like that happen.

    Speaking of feeling betrayed while reading a novel...I LOVE a certain author's novels, always have, so I decided to go back and read some of her "older" (they're not old at all) stuff. I came across one of her books that I absolutely loved and then at the end, the two characters were unable to get together because of a tragedy. I felt so disappointed and, like you said, betrayed. This may sound strange but reading one of that particular author's novels now isn't quite the same.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hi, it's Snoskred here. I've recently become a blogging chick and have set myself a challenge to comment on as many Blogging Chick blogs as I can. So that's why I'm here. ;)

    I have not seen The Buccaneers but I am a major Pride and Prejudice mini-series fan - not the movie, because that was just plain poor compared to the series. Though I did watch it so I would be able to say it's poor. ;) If you haven't seen it, the one with err, what's her name, the stick thin British one in the pirate movies as well, Keira Knightley. I'd say don't bother, it's not worth it.

    I'll keep an eye out for The Buccaneers, but based on what you've said the costumes and the acting are about all I will like. I can appreciate excellent acting even if I'm not a fan of the storyline. :)

    I am a huge fan of Jane Austen, I have a book with all of her works in it, and it is the one book always by my bedside.

    What a pretty blog you have here, love the title bar graphic, it's gorgeous!

    Snoskred
    http://snoskred.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
  4. CAMY Nice cover!!!!!!!
    I love it. :)
    Mary

    ReplyDelete
  5. wharton is not exactly known for her happy endings, and the buccaneers is actually one of the happiest. and while edith wharton does share biting social criticism with austen, even more than austen, wharton exposes the structures of the social order for hypocrisy and as the real immorality. and also unlike austen, wharton does not write romances for whom marriage, even an ideal one, rarely provides a solution (and quite frankly, much more like austen's often cynical letters, there is hardly such a thing as a good marriage -- after all, how likely is one to find someone who is both filthy rich and loveable and decent). in short, the point in wharton is that the whole world is disordered, not the behavior of these girls in particular. and if a young woman stuck to principle she would likely end up dead (e.g., house of mirth).

    best wishes,
    LoA.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular Posts

Year of the Dog serial novel, chapter 5

I’m posting a Humorous Christian Romantic Suspense serial novel here on my blog! Year of the Dog is a (second) prequel to my Warubozu Spa Chronicles series. Year of the Dog serial novel by Camy Tang Marisol Mutou, a professional dog trainer, is having a bad year. While renovating her new dog kenneling and training facility, she needs to move in with her disapproving family, who have always made her feel inadequate—according to them, a job requiring her to be covered in dog hair and slobber is an embarrassment to the family. She convinces her ex-boyfriend to take her dog for a few months … but discovers that his brother is the irate security expert whose car she accidentally rear-ended a few weeks earlier. Ashwin Keitou has enough problems. His aunt has just shown up on his doorstep, expecting to move in with him, and he can’t say no because he owes her everything—after his mother walked out on them, Aunt Nell took in Ashwin and his brother and raised them in a loving Christ

No Cold Bums toilet seat cover

Captain's Log, Stardate 08.22.2008 I actually wrote out my pattern! I was getting a lot of hits on my infamous toilet seat cover , and I wanted to make a new one with “improvements,” so I paid attention and wrote things down as I made the new one. This was originally based off the Potty Mouth toilet cover , but I altered it to fit over the seat instead of the lid. Yarn: any worsted weight yarn, about 120 yards (this is a really tight number, I used exactly 118 yards. My suggestion is to make sure you have about 130 yards.) I suggest using acrylic yarn because you’re going to be washing this often. Needle: I used US 8, but you can use whatever needle size is recommended by the yarn you’re using. Gauge: Not that important. Mine was 4 sts/1 inch in garter stitch. 6 buttons (I used some leftover shell buttons I had in my stash) tapestry needle Crochet hook (optional) Cover: Using a provisional cast on, cast on 12 stitches. Work in garter st until liner measures

Last day of the Clean Romance Sales Event

Today is the last day of the Clean Romance Sales Event. Lady Wynwood’s Spies, volume 1: Archer and Lady Wynwood’s Spies, volume 2: Berserker are both only 99 cents! There are lots of other clean/sweet or Christian romance books on sale from other authors, too, so be sure to check it out. Click here to get Lady Wynwood’s Spies, volume 1: Archer and Lady Wynwood’s Spies, volume 2: Berserker for only 99 cents each! Lady Wynwood’s Spies, volume 1: Archer Part one in a Christian Regency Romantic Adventure epic serial novel with a supernatural twist She met him again by shooting him. After four seasons and unmarried because she is taller than most of her dance partners, Miss Phoebe Sauber receives the shocking news that she is being callously banished from her father’s estate because he is remarrying. Feeling betrayed by her father and by God, and wanting to escape her family’s presence, she attends an archery tournament with her friends. But her perfect aim fails her, and